Become a Fan on Facebook Add us On Google+
Drive Tek
Drive Tek HomeDrivers education classesDrive Tek FactsReplace Lost CertificatesContact Drive TekOut of State DriversParents ResourcesMy AccountDrive Tek Employment Opportunites
Home > FAQ's
 

FAQ's

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: How old do I have to be to take driver education classes?
Iowa law says you must be at least 14 years of age to take driver education and you must have an instruction permit at the beginning of class. If you are 18 years of age, Iowa law does not require you to take driver education.

Q: Do I have to be going to the school or school district where Drive Tek offers driver education classes in order to attend class?
No. Drive Tek offers open enrollment and accepts students on a first come first serve basis.

Q: How much does the program cost?
The cost of the course is listed with each class location. Please check the location for specific payment information. All fees must be paid before the certificate of completion will be issued to the student.

Q: What if I miss some classes?
Iowa law requires that you attend a 30 hour class room program and have a minimum of 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction. You must make up all classes missed. All missed tests and quizzes must be completed and passed.

Q: When will I do my driving and what if I miss some driving?
All driving will be scheduled at your first class. We encourage all students to know their schedules and be flexible. All driving must be completed. Missed driving sessions that have to be made up will cost you more money. Learning to drive is a serious matter. Commitment to the whole program is important and a measure of your maturity level and readiness to take on the responsibility of driving.

Q: How long after class is over do I have to wait before I get my certificate so I can get my license?
If you have passed all your tests and class work and have completed your driving and have paid all your fees in a timely manner you will receive your certificate immediately. However, Iowa law requires that you have an instruction permit for twelve months before you can get your intermediate license.

Q: What if I loose my certificate?
If you loose your certificate Drive Tek will charge you to replace your certificate. You will also be required to drive with the state license examiner.

Q: Why would I take driver education from Drive Tek?
Drive Tek offers a time tested modern curriculum at a competitive price. We register students on a first come first served bases. Programs are offered around the state. Classes are offered year around, not just summers.

Q: Is my deposit refundable?
A $100.00 registration fee paid at the time of registration guarantees your student a seat in their selected session. If a student cancels their enrollment there is a $25.00 processing fee. If the student cancels after the class begins, you will be responsible for the charges for the training provided up to the time of the cancellation notice. Students who transfer their registration to another class will not be charged the processing fee.
 
Q: Can I use school lunch waivers for driver education?
In order to use a lunch waiver for driver education fees, you must have filed your waivers with the your school district in a timely manner.  You must also attend a driver education class in the school district that you filed your waivers and attend school.    
Q: Will my personal information be kept private?
Drive Tek recognizes the importance of protecting the privacy of personal and financial information. Drive Tek will not sell or trade your information to anyone. By providing us with your personal information, you signify acceptance of this privacy policy.

Q:How do I get my instructional permit and where do I go to get it?
For more information about driver licensing in Iowa contact the Iowa Department of Transportation at the following World Wide Web address: www.iowa.gov click on department of transportation.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions:
Phone: 515-327-1500

Drive Tek
9120 NW 26th Street
Ankeny IA 50023
Karl Cheverolet

Terms and ConditionsClassesClass Index