Out of State
Out Of State Driver Education
All Iowa residents must provide an Iowa Certificate of Completion to upgrade to an Intermediate license before they turn 18.
The following Administrative Rule is the basis and general guideline to convert a non-Iowa driver education program to an Iowa Completion Certificate.
761-602.2(1) Certificate of completion. Form 430036 shall be used to submit proof of successful completion of an Iowa-approved course in driver education, motorcycle rider education or motorized bicycle education.
a. If a student completed a course in another state, a public or licensed commercial or private provider of the Iowa-approved course may issue the form for the student if the provider determines that the out-of-state course is comparable to the Iowa-approved course.
b. If the out-of-state course is comparable but lacks certain components of the Iowa-approved course, the provider may issue the form after the student completes the missing components.
The non-Iowa school must meet the Iowa criteria of:
30 hours of classroom instruction,
6 hours behind-the-wheel,
4 hours of instruction concerning substance abuse,
20 minutes of instruction concerning railroad crossing safety instruction relating to becoming an organ donor under the uniform anatomical gift Act
You must provide Drive Tek documents with the following information:
- The name of the school and the state where the driver education class was attended.
- The grade for the class
- How many hours of classroom instruction
- How many hours of driving (behind the wheel) instruction did they receive
- A copy of the course outline.
There is a $125 fee for Drive Tek to evaluate the out of state school program and the student will be required to drive with the Department of Transportation to receive their license.
Once all documentation and your payment is received, a certificate of completion will be issued.